Skip to main content

News and Events

Stay up-to-date with The Research Foundation. Read our latest news and learn more about upcoming events.

The Research Foundation honors nursing faculty at Kansas City area colleges

KANSAS CITY, Mo., (Mar. 12, 2021) – Nursing department faculty members from nursing schools in the Kansas City area were presented awards from The Research Foundation for teaching excellence, community service, scholarly achievement, leadership, and continuing education. These awards are open to all nursing faculty at Avila University, Research College of Nursing, or William Jewell College.

The Teaching Excellence Award is given to those who have made a positive difference in the teaching climate of their college or university. The Research Foundation recognized Avila University assistant professor Megan Ashcraft, MSN, RN, CNE, Research College of Nursing instructor Sarah Schlanker, MSN, RN, CNOR, and William Jewell associate professor of nursing Melissa Timmons, MSN as the Teaching Excellence Award recipients.

The Outstanding Community Service Award is given to those who demonstrate service to the community and encourages faculty and students to provide leadership and service that fosters community growth. The Research Foundation recognized Research College of Nursing associate professor and coordinator of the Executive Nurse Practice and Healthcare Leadership (EPHL) and Clinic Nurse Leader (CNL) tracks Rebecca Cahill, DNP, RN, CPHQ, CNEP and William Jewell College assistant professor of nursing Patricia Richter, MSN as the Outstanding Community Service Award recipients.

The Scholarly Achievement Award is to recognize the involvement of faculty members in scholarly pursuits. The award is given to faculty members who have made a positive difference in scholarly activities. These activities must advance the teaching, research and practice of nursing through inquiry that is significant to the profession, is creative, can be documented, can be replicated or elaborated and can be peer-reviewed. The Research Foundation recognized William Jewell College assistant professor of nursing Annette Behney, DNP and Research College of Nursing director of the Seelos Center and Learning Resource Center Tobey Stosberg, MSN, MAE, RN as the Scholarly Achievement Award recipients.

The Teaching Excellence Award, Outstanding Community Service Award and Scholarly Achievement Award all include a $1,000 honorarium.

The Nancy O. DeBasio Faculty Leadership Award honors the career of Dr. Nancy DeBasio who served Research College of Nursing in leadership positions for nearly 30 years. The award includes a $2,500 honorarium and is given to a faculty member who demonstrates heroic leadership, based on Chris Lowney’s four pillars of heroic leadership:  self-awareness, ingenuity, love, and heroism. The Research Foundation recognized Research College of Nursing professor and Traditional Bachelor of Science in Nursing (TBSN) Program Director Glenna Mahoney, DNP, RN, SANE as the Nancy O. DeBasio Faculty Leadership Award recipient.

The Research Foundation also facilitates faculty development by funding doctoral degrees. Avila University nursing faculty member Jessica Brunsman, MSN, RN; Research College of Nursing faculty members Pamelia Bertrand, MSN, RN; Rosalia Molina, MSN, RN; Julia Payne, MSN, RN, RNC-OB, CNE; Sarah Schlanker, MSN, RN, CNOR; Tobey Stosberg, MSN, MAE, RN; and Camille Williams, MSN, RN, NP-C; as well as William Jewell College nursing faculty members Tiffany Condren, MSN; and Patricia Richter, MSN are eligible for up to $5,000 of funding.  

Visit to learn more about The Research Foundation’s nursing faculty development awards and their criteria.